I’ve always been a huge fan of breakfast, as in I would literally eat it for every meal if I could. Unfortunately, most of my favorite breakfast foods are grains – cereal, pancakes, waffles etc. So, as you can imagine, when I first started on the paleo diet, it was pretty torturous for me. The friend who got me into it (and let me just add for the record that the whole reason I agreed to do it was because he said, and I quote, “You can’t give up carbs because you’re a woman and you’re weak. I’m a man, and I have willpower.” He knew that would work!)… anyway, back to what I was saying – my friend told me to make omelettes. He said they were the easiest way to make sure your meal was nothing but veggies and protein. I do love omelettes, but I completely lack the ability to flip one, so I took his idea and turned it into scrambles instead. 

The great thing about scrambles is that you can really just toss together whatever you have in your fridge. There are no set rules for what goes in one, and really, almost anything meat or veggie related will taste good. This morning I ran to the grocery store and picked up some prosciutto (which is a thinly sliced dry-cured italian ham, if you’re not familiar with it) and a bag of small tri-color sweet peppers. They’re basically miniature bell peppers, which I had never seen before moving here, but I LOVE them. They come in a big bag and I use them in everything. Add those two things to the mushrooms and radishes that I already had and – voila! – instant scramble.

Makes one serving

Ingredients:

3 mini sweet peppers, diced

3 radishes, diced

4 button mushrooms, sliced

3 slices of prosciutto, cut into 1″ pieces

3 eggs, beaten with 1 tbsp of water

Lightly spray a large skillet with olive oil, then heat over medium. Add diced bell peppers and radishes and allow to cook for 5 minutes or until the veggies begin to brown. Add mushrooms and prosciutto and cook another 3 minutes, until mushrooms start to brown and soften. Pour in beaten eggs and stir constantly with a wooden spoon or spatula until eggs are cooked completely, about 2-3 minutes. 

Serve.

 

[[posterous-content:pid___0]]

*If your local stores don’t sell prosciutto, you can get it here.*

 

