Up until then, I had never had brussels sprouts, but I fell in love. I got my book (I collect autographed cookbooks – because I’m a weirdo like that) and I started making them for every holiday. Everyone I know loves them. 

When I first started on the paleo diet, I still wanted to make my brussels sprouts, but the original recipe calls for a ton of heavy cream, and since I obviously can’t have cream, I had to tweak the recipe a bit. What you see before you is my paleo version of Tyler’s masterpiece. PS – Thank you Tyler Florence for showing me what yummy is. 😛

Ingredients:

1 lb brussels sprouts, ends cut off and halved

4 strips of bacon, diced

1 pint of mushrooms, sliced

2 tbsp spicy brown mustard

1/2 c chicken stock

salt and pepper

Heat a large skillet over medium and add your bacon. Allow to cook, stirring occasionally, until fat has rendered out and bacon is crispy. Drain all but 1 tbsp of bacon fat out of the skillet and add your mushrooms. Cook until mushrooms have browned and softened.

While your bacon is cooking, bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Fill a mixing bowl with water and ice and set aside. When water is at a rolling boil, add your sprouts and blanch (boil for 3-4 minutes). Transfer the sprouts from the boiling pot to the ice water to shock them and stop the cooking process. 

When your mushrooms/bacon is ready, add your mustard and chicken stock, and whisk until well-combined. Add in your sprouts, turn the heat up to med-high, stir and cook until chicken stock has mistly evaporated out. Serve.

Just a warning, these are crazy addictive. My sister doesn’t like mushrooms or mustard, and I’ve seen her put away two bowls. They also reheat well, though I rarely have leftovers,