I love soup. I mean LOVE it. I’m not sure what it is, whether I like it so much because it warms me up and fills the soul, or because I’m lazy and I can eat leftovers forever. Whatever the reason, this is my favorite of my soup recipes, because it’s simple and tasty. I made it for my sister and her husband the other day, and it was a big hit. (as you can see from one of the pictures, where my sister is devouring the pot)

Ingredients:

1 lb chicken tenders, cut into bite-sized pieces

3 carrots, peeled and chopped

3 parsnips, peeled and chopped

12 asparagus spears, chopped

32 oz of chicken stock

1/2 yellow onion, diced

1/4 tsp ground thyme

salt and pepper

In a large pot or dutch oven, heat 1 tbsp olive oil over medium heat. Add carrots and parsnips, sprinkle liberally with salt, and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened – about 10 minutes. Add chicken stock, reduce heat and simmer.

In a large skillet over med-high heat, heat 1 tbsp olive oil and add your onions and chicken. Season with salt and pepper, and cook, stirring frequently until onions have begun to turn translucent and chicken has browned. 

Add chicken and onions to the stock pot as well as chopped asparagus. Season with salt, pepper and thyme. Cover and simmer 10 minutes. Serve.